History of the Department
The department of statistics was established in the year 1968, starting with B.Sc. (Hons) course in statistics. M.Sc. course was offered from the year 1969. The goals and objectives of the Department are to impart quality education to those seeking admission to its M.Sc. and Ph.D.programmes, promote both theoretical and applied research and publications, develop interaction with Statistical Organisations, R & D Establishments , Industries and other Organisations

Chairperson  : Dr. J.V. Janhavi

Tenure: 09.01.2016 to 08.01.2018

Contact Us

Department of Statistics
Jnanabharathi Campus
Bangalore University

Tel: 080 22961541

E-Mail Id:  [email protected]


A. Course Offered - M.Sc. in Statistics

B. Nature of Course - Semester Scheme

C. Duration -4 Semesters (2 years)

D. Intake - 50 + Payment Seats - 06

E. Eligibility :

M.Sc. in Statistics : A candidate who has passed B.Sc. Degree Examination with Statistics and Mathematics as optional subjects securing a minimum of 50% in the Statistics and a minimum of 40% in the aggregate of this University or any other University equivalent thereto is eligible. Further, a candidate who has passed B.Sc., degree examination of any other University with Statistics as Major/Main subject and Mathematics as minor subject and a minimum of 50% marks in Statistics and 40% in aggregate, is also eligible

Sl. NoNameQualificationsDesignationSpecializationView Profile
1Dr. P. RajalakshmiM.Sc., Ph. DProfessorMultivariate AnalysisProfile
2Dr.  J. V. JanhaviM.Sc., Ph. D.ProfessorTime Series Analysis, Linear Models, Discrete Data Analysis            Profile
3Dr. G. NanjundanM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.ProfessorStochastic ProcessesProfile
4Dr. Parameshwar V. PanditM.Sc., Ph.D.ProfessorNonparametric Inference, Reliability AnalysisProfile
5Dr. V. SrinivasM.Sc., Ph. D.Associate ProfessorTheory of Queues, Bayesian InferenceProfile